Guide · Uganda
What clinic software actually costs in Uganda
Most vendors will not tell you until you sit through a demo. Here is what can actually be verified, where the figures came from, and the part that matters more than any of them — what you are charged per.
Checked 01 August 2026. Everything below is quoted from each vendor's own public pages on that date. Prices change; follow the links and check. Conversions use roughly UGX 3,800 to the US dollar and are approximate.
Who publishes, and who does not
A clear pattern, and it is not the one you would guess. The internationally run products publish their prices. The Africa-based vendors generally do not — they ask you to book a demo first. We are in the second group for our paid tiers, which is exactly why the questions further down this page matter: use them on us as well.
| Vendor | Published price | Charged per |
|---|---|---|
| Easy Clinic Novel Medicare Solutions, India — sold in Uganda |
US$79–$99 per month (annual billing); US$99–$129 billed quarterly. Enterprise quoted on request. | per doctor |
| PharmaPOS MedSoftwares, Kenya — pharmacy |
KES 45,000 – 150,000, one-time licence | one-time |
| HospitalOS MedSoftwares, Kenya |
KES 80,000 – 400,000, one-time licence | one-time |
| MedicentreV3 (Hanmak) Nairobi |
Not published — annual, monthly or per-patient-visit, quoted after a demo | not stated |
| Ksatria Perth, with a Kampala support centre |
Not published — “low-cost monthly subscriptions and no upfront license costs” | not stated |
| Clinic Plus Uganda |
Not published — request a demo | not stated |
| CareBoon Kampala — this is us |
UGX 0 free plan · paid tiers not published, quoted per facility | per facility |
The number that matters is not the number
Almost every clinic system charges per doctor or per user. That sounds reasonable until you do the arithmetic on a clinic that is doing well.
Take a published example. At US$79 per doctor per month — Easy Clinic's Professional plan on annual billing — a facility pays:
| Clinicians | Per month | Roughly |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | $79 | UGX 300,000 |
| 3 | $237 | UGX 900,000 |
| 5 | $395 | UGX 1,500,000 |
The bill grows precisely when the clinic is busiest, and hiring a fourth clinical officer becomes a software decision as well as a staffing one. That is the wrong incentive to put in front of a growing facility.
Ask what the price does not include
A monthly figure is only half a quote. Before comparing anything, get these in writing:
- Is there an implementation or setup fee? Where the licence is cheap, the project often is not — one vendor advertises "reducing upfront costs by 50%", which tells you an upfront cost exists.
- Is pharmacy, laboratory, stock and insurance included, or a higher tier? On at least one published price list, all four sit in the top enterprise plan. For a Ugandan clinic those are not extras — they are the day.
- Per doctor, per user, per branch, or per facility?
- Is training included, and for how many staff?
- What happens to your data if you leave? Ask for the export format, and ask whether you can do it yourself.
- Is it billed in dollars? If so, your bill moves with the exchange rate and you carry that risk, not the vendor.
What we charge
The free plan is free, and what is in it is listed on the pricing page — the full clinical flow, reception to pharmacy, with billing, stock and insurance claims. Those are the job, not an upsell, and you can start on it today without speaking to anybody.
The paid tiers are quoted, per facility rather than per doctor. Add a clinician, a nurse or a second shift and the figure does not move — that part has not changed and it is the part that decides what you actually pay over a year.
Being straight about the trade: we used to print the paid figures and now we do not, so by the standard of this page we have joined the group that asks you to book a call. The reason is that we are still settling what those tiers should cost while the first facilities use the system, and a printed number we then move is worse than a quote. Hold us to the same test as anyone else: ask for the figure in writing, in shillings, per facility, and ask what it does when you add a doctor. If the answer depends on who is asking, that is worth knowing about us too.
Related: the HMIS 105 monthly report · why insurance claims get paid late · how clinics lose money to expired drugs · what a small clinic actually needs · moving off paper · what happens when the internet goes down · the controlled drugs register · an NDA inspection · selling on credit · how much to order